Ethiopian Feast

The complete feast!

For Christmas I gave myself one of the best present’s ever – Papa Tofu Loves Ethiopian Food, by Kittee Berns.

I could barely wait to try out the recipes – Papa Tofu lived on my nightstand for a week, and every night my dream menu changed. Finally, I made some tough decisions and cooked 6 dishes. The result? AMAZING. One review was “just as good as any Ethiopian you will get in a restaurant”. I take that as high praise indeed, and so should Kittee Berns!

The menu was as follows:

Selata (the necessary green salad with the stray jalapeno seed), Ye’Abesha Gomen (Collard Greens, made with spinach – it is difficult to find collared greens in Canada in January!), Ingudai T’ibs (Sauteed Mushrooms), Ye’Takelt Allecha (Gingery Roasted Vegetables), Ye’kik Allecha (Mild Split Peas), and Ye’Meiser W’et (Spicy Red Lentils).

Platter 1: Ye'Miser W'et (top), Ingudai T'ibs (right), Ye'Takelt Allecha (left), salad piled on top

Platter 2: Ye'Kik Allecha (top), Ye'Abesha Gomen (left), more Ye'Takelt Allecha (bottom), and more salad on top

Everything was fantastic! And since I made enough food to feed a small army, I have enough leftovers to last me through the week.W’et sandwiches with injera bread? Yes please!

I highly recommend this zine to anybody – from Ethiopian food lover to those who don’t know where Ethiopia is. The zine is clearly a labour of love, with hand-drawn titles and cute pictures sprinkled throughout. Included are instructions on how to make all those mystery ‘extra’ ingredients like niter kibbeh and berber. It’s the extras that make the difference! Humourous and educational, this is a zine that you can tweak to your taste buds!

Leave a Reply

