Chocolate Chocolate Cookies

First, let me apologize for no picture. I was distracted by how delicious they were coming out of the oven – eating takes priority every time 🙂

I am not what you would call a fan of dessert. I like some dessert now and again, but if someone made me choose between Lindt dark chocolate or fresh fruit, the fruit would win every time. But everyone needs their stashes, and these cookies are worthy! I was inspired by my almond milk that was about to expire, and a splurge purchase of unsweetened carob chips at Bulk Barn. I have never had carob chips before, and I am now an official convert. They taste different than chocolate, but in a good way.

The recipe was inspired by the chocolate chocolate cookie recipe in Veganomicon, however I think I have made enough substitutions to make it my own. These are the healthiest chocolate cookies you will ever eat. I brought them to work once in a blind taste test against a coworkers wife’s super-special chocolate monster cookies, made traditionally with real butter, sugar, eggs, M&M’s and chocolate chips. I take great pride in the knowledge that head-to-head my plate disappeared the fastest! My coworkers never knew what was in those cookies, and until now it’s been a secret. Out of the oven they taste like morsels of fudge. Out of the freezer it’s a cookie popsicle. Dipped in some natural peanut butter … swoon worthy.

Chocolate Chocolate Cookies

Yield: 40 cookies

Dry ingredients:

1c. spelt flour

1c. whole wheat flour (Note: to make it gluten free, 2c. quinoa flour or your favourite gluten free mix would work well)

2/3c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1t. baking soda

pinch of salt

Wet ingredients:

1c. unsweetened applesauce

1/4c. agave nectar (brown rice syrup or maple syrup would work too!)

4t. flax seeds

1/2c. almond milk, or your favourite non-dairy milk

2t. vanilla extract

2/3c. chocolate chips (or carob chips!)

Optional add-ins: 2/3c. nuts of your choice, dried cranberries, frozen raspberries … the possibilities are endless!

Directions:

1) In small bowl, sift together all dry ingredients

2) In larger bowl, mix together applesauce and agave nectar. Add in flax seeds, milk, and vanilla. Stir to combine.

3) Add dry ingredients to wet in batches, stirring as you go. Mix to combine.

4) Add chocolate chips and other add-ins. At this point the dough may be too stiff to mix with a spoon, so get in there with your hands! Mix to combine.

5) Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper. Make balls of dough approximately the size of a quarter and place on lined cookie sheet. (I fit 20/sheet). If you like crispier cookies, smoosh down the tops of the cookies with the back of a spoon.

6) Bake at 400dF for 8min. Let cool ~2min on cookie sheet, then transfer to wire rack.

Leave a Reply

