Spicy Peanut and Eggplant Stew

This gem of a stew is probably my idea of heaven in a bowl. Like the title indicates, it combines all my favourites: peanut butter, eggplant, and spiciness. Eggplant is one of my favourite vegetables because it’s nice and meaty and can either be enjoyed lightly seasoned and grilled or marinated to the hilt. Any way you cook it, it is melt-in-your-mouth delicious, and in this soup the eggplant assumes the spicy peanut broth flavour that makes it virtually impossible for me to not go back for thirds. The green beans add some colour and crunch, which I think is necessary to any stew. The broth is one of the best uses of peanut butter out there, deftly combining tomatoes, peanut butter, and spices into a velvety broth that should be bottled as ‘nirvana broth’.

 

This recipe is originally from Veganomicon, but Isa Chandra Moskowitz has been kind enough to post it on her blog as well. (The PPK – Spicy Peanut Eggplant and Shallot Stew).  I made the recipe slightly healthier by only using 2t. of peanut oil instead of the 1/4c. called for, and I dry roasted the spices before the sautéing began. As I cut down the oil, I didn’t pre-sauté the shallots and eggplant in separate steps. Shallots, then eggplant, then onion. This also cuts down on prep dishes, which I am always a fan of.

 

If someone told me I had to prepare for nuclear holocaust and could only bring one dish to the bomb shelter, this would be the one. It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

