Spaghetti Squash “Spaghetti” with Spicy Sweet Potato Bean Balls

Step aside spaghetti - Spaghetti squash has come to town!

Step aside spaghetti – Spaghetti squash has come to town!

Spaghetti squash is the one type of winter squash I normally avoid. I always had issues with spaghetti growing up. Somehow, I always managed to get more sauce on my face and my immediate surroundings (the counter, wall, floor …) than in my belly. Pre-cutting, fork and spoon technique, or Lady and the Tramp style – it didn’t matter. And thus I avoided stringy foods, including spaghetti squash. But when you live on a budget and like to expand your culinary horizons, the spaghetti squash beacons. Always one to rise to a challenge and craving something spring-ier than my standard curry, I decided to give it a go. The result was less of a recipe and more of a stream of consciousness, coupled with copious amounts of time staring into my pantry.

The “Method”:

I first cut the squash in half lengthwise. Unlike other squashes, Spaghetti squash is directional, so this resulted in much shorter spaghetti ‘strands’. I was okay with this, but if you don’t have the same spaghetti eating issues that I do, cutting the squash in half width-wise may be advisable. I then stabbed poked the surface with a fork a couple of times, and placed face down on a cookie sheet to roast at 375dF for 45min. While that was going, I made Spicy Sweet Potato Bean Balls, based on my Burger recipe. Instead of a grain, I used the same amount in mashed sweet potato. Genius! With 10min to go on the squash, I quickly whipped up a spicy tomato sauce made of 2c. diced tomatoes, 2 jalapenos, 1/2t. ground cumin, and 1t. minced garlic. Let the squash rest when you take it out of the oven so you don’t burn your fingers. Flip it over, and scrape the inside with a fork to make your lovely spaghetti. Top the spaghetti with your tomato sauce and a bean ball or two, and volia! Dinner in 45min or so.

The result is absolutely delicious. Spaghetti squash “pasta” is my new favourite type of pasta. The burger recipe made stand out bean balls, and the sweet potato was a nice change from the rice/quinoa formula. The latin tomato sauce added some flavour, but leftovers were devoured without the sauce. Straight-up diced tomatoes were amazing too! For a complete vegetable feast, serve on top of a bed of greens. This is just one suggestion – clearly adapt to your cravings! A sauce of your favourite cheese sauce would be delicious. Or hummus inspired topped with sliced nuts. Or just straight up with some fresh herbs. Let your pantry speak to you!

Now who said that comfort food can’t be healthy?

2 responses to “Spaghetti Squash “Spaghetti” with Spicy Sweet Potato Bean Balls

  • Kristine

    did you cook the sweet potatoes first? Or grate them in raw and add at the bean stage? Looks great!

    • Katie

      Hi Kristine,

      Thanks for the comment! They are indeed delicious 🙂 For that particular one, I cooked the sweet potatoes first, then mashed them. However, they’d also work as you suggest – grate them raw then add them to the veggie mix. If I did that, I may add a bit more water to the veggies to let them soften up a bit, but that’s to your taste. I also like raw sweet potato noodles 🙂 In fact, your suggestion would be even easier – save a dish to clean! I will make them this way in the future.

      I hope you like them!

      Katie

Leave a Reply

